New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Multi-Table Entity
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Multi-Table Entity

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ddorival View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17-Nov-2009
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote ddorival Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Multi-Table Entity
    Posted: 17-Nov-2009 at 12:36pm
I have been looking at Dynamic Entities but I'm not sure if they will work how I need them to. Can you create an updateable dynamic entity that is populated from multiple tables? From what I understand so far, to populate a dynamic entity from multiple tables you will have to use a query that joins both tables. Can you do this and still make it persistable?
 
Also, if I do have to use dynamic entities it will be a bit of a hassle to have to create them at runtime and lose strong typing for accessing the properties. Not a huge deal but will still be a nuisance.
Back to Top
davidklitzke View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidklitzke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Nov-2009 at 11:13am
You can't really do this with the Object Mapper, but you can do it with code.  There is an advanced tutorial called "336. Dynamic Entities" that shows how to do this.  This tutorial also includes documentation from the Developer's Guide on Dynamic Entities.
Back to Top
ddorival View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17-Nov-2009
Posts: 2
Post Options Post Options   Quote ddorival Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Nov-2009 at 7:54am
Not sure if this question has been submitted before but I wasn't able to find it. Is it possible in DevForce classic to create an entity that spans multiple tables? I don't expect that this can be done using the object mapper, but can it be accomplished by manually editing the .orm or the entity class?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down