Author |
Share Topic Topic Search Topic Options
|
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: [COMPLETED] Widget View Template Posted: 10-Sep-2007 at 6:35pm |
Again, great job on the templates/wizards!
I was playing around with creating a customer page with contact details. I would like to present the contacts in a view with a navigator. When reading about the summary view, I ran across the statement:
"use one of the widget view templates to create and design a new summary view"
I am not sure what a widget view template is. What are these templates and how would I use them?
Thanks,
Bill
Edited by Linguinut - 28-Sep-2007 at 4:54pm
|
 |
Bill Jensen
IdeaBlade
Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 11-Sep-2007 at 11:51am |
So far, the two widget view templates are ControlView and DotNetGridView. The others are considered layout view templates (except the GridBuilder which is a helper class template).
When building views, we recommend clearly separating the concept of "layout views" that define the structure of a portion of screen real estate and "widget views" that actually display data in a particular set of controls.
Bill J.
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 11-Sep-2007 at 12:00pm |
Are there five classes of wizards, then?
1) Application
2) Business Module
3) Page Layout
a) Search Summary/Detail
b) Search Results
c) Summary/Detail
4) Views (widgets)
a) Grid (DotNet only?)
b) Controls
5) Helper (only grid builder, so far)
If I build a layout the wizard can setup the view I would like with it; however, that view could easily be replaced by another view that I create with one of the widget wizards, right?
|
 |
Bill Jensen
IdeaBlade
Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 11-Sep-2007 at 12:15pm |
Right. You'd do that by modifying the page controller code for the layout view to create the desired widget view.
Bill J.
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 13-Sep-2007 at 10:09am |
I built a loose controls widget for my address master table. This table is related to the customer master table. I have a page layout for customers using a search summary/detail layout. My desire is to add the new address control to the tabs. Here is my code:
TabViewControllers.Add(new GeneralTabViewController<AddressView>("Addresses","Customer Addresses", true));
When I run this I get the following error:
The item type of the BindingSource that you selected [Spiratex.Aspire.Model.CustomerMaster] does not match the BoundType of this BindingManager [Spiratex.Aspire.Model.AddressMaster].
I thought I could setup a view with relational ignorance; however, that does not seem to be the case. How would I create a widget that will reflect related items and NOT be a readonly entity list?
Thanks!
|
 |
Bill Jensen
IdeaBlade
Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 13-Sep-2007 at 5:20pm |
I'll be happy to help you with this (and the additional issues raised in your e-mail to support) when I return on Tuesday.
Bill J.
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 13-Sep-2007 at 5:25pm |
When you get back, I'd appreciate some help on that ListConverter thing, too.
Thanks!
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19-Sep-2007 at 3:35pm |
This may be related to another concurrent thread; nevertheless, I thought I would get back to this today.
I am still getting the following error:
The item type of the BindingSource that you selected [Spiratex.Aspire.Model.CustomerMaster] does not match the BoundType of this BindingManager [Spiratex.Aspire.Model.ContactMaster].
I get this no matter how I try to connect a view to the customer summary/detail layout. With or without a tabcontroller, this error keeps surfacing. How do I properly connect a widget view to a layout view?
This is an example of what I am trying to do...both addresses and contacts are loose control views with navigation. Orders and invoices will be simple grid views.
Edited by Linguinut - 19-Sep-2007 at 3:42pm
|
 |
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19-Sep-2007 at 6:38pm |
Glad to hear I ain't the only one.
|
 |
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19-Sep-2007 at 6:39pm |
What did you do to add new buttons to the nav bar?
|
 |
Bill Jensen
IdeaBlade
Joined: 31-Jul-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 229
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 20-Sep-2007 at 10:00am |
Look at a at the "NavBar Setup" region of a module controller.
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 20-Sep-2007 at 11:53am |
My example above is from a previous, non-CAB version of my application. I have only been successful in recreating the top part of that window in the CAB app. The tabular portion is not working (unless I introduce a gridview, but that is not what I want). I am still trying to connect a widget view (loose controls with navigation) to the overall layout.
|
 |
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 20-Sep-2007 at 11:59am |
I am right there with you. Haven't been able to get a reply tho.
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 21-Sep-2007 at 2:42pm |
*bump*
The recent discussion on the new base view has been somewhat relevant and helpful; however, my basic question is still unanswered: how do I create a view with navigation similar to the example provided above?
My efforts so far have gone one of two ways: 1) the view shows up (no navigation), but no data is presented; or 2) the error regarding the boundtype resurfaces. I have tried the view/context/presenter route. I have tried creating a new tabviewcontroller just for the view. The GeneralTabViewController does not work either (boundtype error). I am running out of options.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Bill
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 21-Sep-2007 at 3:23pm |
Quick update: I now have data showing up in the view (the mEmptyList was pointing to the wrong entitylist). However, it is presented without any way to add/edit or delete. So, the next step will be to try to wiggle a BindingNavigator onto the form. I'd really like to use the one already designed (summarydetailpage?), so I'll keep digging into the code to figure it out.
Edited by Linguinut - 21-Sep-2007 at 3:24pm
|
 |
Linguinut
Senior Member
Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 394
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 21-Sep-2007 at 5:35pm |
One last effort for today was to create a Contacts SummaryDetailPage using the wizard. From this I pointed the recently created ContactViewTabController to use the new ContactMasterSummaryView created by the wizard. My hope, albeit thin, was that the tab controller would pick up the view with the binding navigator supplied through the summarydetailpagecontroller. Unfortunately, that did not work out. The reason is that the new controller for the view is never called. Nevertheless, the view with data did show up in the tab, but no way to navigate it or update it. At least, I see now how easy it is to transplant views.
Somehow, I need to get the tabcontroller to inherit from the summarydetailpagecontroller; or, perhaps, create a hybrid of these two calling it a ControlViewTabController, or something like that. 
Time for the weekend.
|
 |