Author |
Share Topic Topic Search Topic Options
|
BenHayat
Groupie
Joined: 06-Jan-2009
Location: Estero, FL USA
Posts: 86
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: Database switch at runtime guidelines Posted: 18-Apr-2009 at 5:00pm |
Hi;
My objective is to have one database that holds a list of users, their ID, password, other info and most importantly which database their data reside in.
Then I will have a series of databases (all the same schema) except each one would holds data for different company. After a user logs in, I'd like to access the first database to find out out which database to open, and then at runtime, open up the database for the logged in user.
Is there any proper patterns or guidelines to do this with Devforce that is already tested and should be followed? Thanks!
|
|
|
BenHayat
Groupie
Joined: 06-Jan-2009
Location: Estero, FL USA
Posts: 86
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 19-Apr-2009 at 5:12pm |
I got a better understanding as I read pages 139 & 140 of user guide. However, I'd like to see a sample how at runtime you would change Datasource Keys to point to different databases with same schema!
Thanks!
[Update] I went on reading and there is much more in the following pages. Should read 139-149! I still would like an stand alone small sample showing same database schema, different data and switching at runtime without getting those extension keys from. App.config bur from user database!
Edited by BenHayat - 19-Apr-2009 at 6:27pm
|
|
|
GregD
IdeaBlade
Joined: 09-May-2007
Posts: 374
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 22-Apr-2009 at 3:50pm |
Originally posted by BenHayat
I still would like an stand alone small sample showing same database schema, different data and switching at runtime without getting those extension keys from. App.config bur from user database!
|
Ben, there will be an example included in next release of DevForce, scheduled in a couple of weeks.
|
|
BenHayat
Groupie
Joined: 06-Jan-2009
Location: Estero, FL USA
Posts: 86
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 22-Apr-2009 at 4:02pm |
Excellent!
Thanks!
|
|
|
BenHayat
Groupie
Joined: 06-Jan-2009
Location: Estero, FL USA
Posts: 86
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 21-May-2009 at 2:30pm |
Originally posted by GregD
Originally posted by BenHayat
I still would like an stand alone small sample showing same database schema, different data and switching at runtime without getting those extension keys from. App.config bur from user database!
|
Ben, there will be an example included in next release of DevForce, scheduled in a couple of weeks.
|
Greg, can you tell me where this sample is as part of RC2?
|
|
|
GregD
IdeaBlade
Joined: 09-May-2007
Posts: 374
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 22-May-2009 at 11:06am |
C:\Program Files\IdeaBlade DevForce\Learning Units\WinClient-Only\300 Advanced\DataSourceKeys\02 Code CSharp\Custom DataSourceKeyResolver
|
|
BenHayat
Groupie
Joined: 06-Jan-2009
Location: Estero, FL USA
Posts: 86
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 22-May-2009 at 11:20am |
Originally posted by GregD
C:\Program Files\IdeaBlade DevForce\Learning Units\WinClient-Only\300 Advanced\DataSourceKeys\02 Code CSharp\Custom DataSourceKeyResolver
|
Hi Greg; As part of my Silverlight installations, I don't have the WinClient-only folder and the project you mentioned.
|
|
|
ting
IdeaBlade
Joined: 27-Mar-2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 427
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 29-May-2009 at 8:08am |
Hi Ben,
I believe Greg contacted you via email a few days ago and can send you the example and answer any questions you may have. If anyone else is interested in the sample, please contact support@ideablade.com. Thanks.
Edited by ting - 29-May-2009 at 8:08am
|
|