FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Few questions

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
mymoosani View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote mymoosani Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Few questions
    Posted: 22-Aug-2007 at 1:26pm

Hi,

I am new to devforce and learning thru tutorials. While reading I have following questions in mind.

i- What is the solution for composite primary keys How these are handled in DevForce

ii- Suppose If I have a Table for multiple kind of activities and I want to keep a serial for each activity. This is other than primary key.

what we do previously is to get a temporary serial number per activity type, so user should know and mark his document, but on save it may get different  number if another user on network utilize that number. how that kind of scenario  is handled in devforce. As I read, it generates the primary key automatically. Is there any way to generate another key at the time of save.

iii- Suppose I need the functionality of Add thru Combo eg: IdeabladeTutoria Database > Managers: I need combo of Manager on Employee form like

<<AddNew>>

------------------------

DAVOLIO, Nancy

FULLER, Andy

at the same time I want the functionality of Null Entity, if Manager is not selected, it should show (Not Provided)....

this means that in mManagers Binding source, I should have three Null Entity..... if yes then How do I put their captions

and how I will identify which one is selected to purform appropriate action....

kimj View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade

Post Options Post Options   Quote kimj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23-Aug-2007 at 5:26pm
1) Composite primary keys are allowed within DevForce

2) There are a couple options here. 
  • The best way to handle this might be to use a database insert trigger to set the real serial number during save.  DevForce by default will re-query saved data and merge it back into cache.