FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Combobox binding

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jcdk View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote jcdk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Combobox binding
    Posted: 25-Aug-2007 at 10:23am
Hi

I am a newbie to DevForce, but I can already see that it will speed op development dramatically.

I do have a problem with comboboxes though. I am showing orders on a master detail form. The order has one customer. The customer has many Contact Persons. I want to display a dropdown box of Contact Persons on the form.

I have managed to get a list of valid Contact Persons for each order by extending the order class with ContactPersons using something like this

Public ReadOnly Property ContactPersons() As EntityList(Of ContactPerson)
  Get
    Dim aContactPersons As EntityList(Of ContactPerson)
    aContactPersons = Me.PersistenceManager.GetChildren(Of 
       ContactPerson)(Me.Customer,
       EntityRelations.Customer_ContactPerson, True)
Return aContactPersons
End Get
End Property

I would have expected that I could use this property directly in the ControlBindingManager, but I get the message "There are no controls suitable for ContactPersons".

I've tried to create a new datasource, chaining it after the Orders datasource, and selecting ContactPersons. Using this as a binding source for my combobox it updates the valid values correctly on each order.

I've then used the databinding of the combobox to connect it back to the original orders datasorce. It works when I first enter the form, but when I move back and forth the combobox stops moving.

I am afraid that I am on a wrong track. If I am, please show me the way.

Any help greatly appriciated.

Regards
Jesper Carstensen
pkarsh View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade

Post Options Post Options   Quote pkarsh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29-Aug-2007 at 1:00pm
You are most of the way there.