New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Deploying on my local IIS
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Deploying on my local IIS

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Deploying on my local IIS
    Posted: 20-Aug-2009 at 3:27pm
I am working on deploying my app to my local IIS before i proceed with future 
development.

I am attempting to understand your Chapter 15 Deployment but I find it
confusing. It appears to be for a great deal more than Silverlight.

Is there a simplified version of this for deploying for Silverlight? My IIS
Default Web Site is set up to use port 60000 and I have published my Silverlight
web site to inetpub/wwwroot/mysite. No matter how I configure app.config in the
Silverlight directory when i attempt login via:

App.mDomainModelEntityManager.LoginAsync(cred, Attached, null);

it always give me an error and refers to port 9009?

I establish mDomainModelEntityManager in App.Xaml.cs with

private void Application_Startup(object sender, StartupEventArgs e)
{

mDomainModelEntityManager = new DomainModelEntityManager(false);
this.RootVisual = new PageSwitcher();
}

my app.config is

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration>
<configSections>
<section name="ideablade.configuration" type="IdeaBlade.Core.Configuration.IdeaBladeSection, IdeaBlade.Core, Version=5.2.1.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=287b5094865421c0" />
</configSections>
<ideablade.configuration version="5.00" updateFromDomainModelConfig="Ask" clientApplicationType="Silverlight">
<objectServer isDistributed="true" remoteBaseURL="http://localhost" serverPort="9009" serviceName="EntityService.svc" />
<edmKeys>
<edmKey name="Default">
<probeAssemblyNames>
<probeAssemblyName name="StrataFundTrak, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" />
</probeAssemblyNames>
</edmKey>
</edmKeys>
</ideablade.configuration>
</configuration>

if I change the serverPort="60000", I get a warning about it no longer being in sync with my domain model?

I don't get it.

Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20-Aug-2009 at 4:36pm
Some of the confusion is due to the fact that there are 2 app.config files which synchronize by default. The app.config in the domain model and the app.config in the client application prompt you to synchronize due to the setting updateFromDomainModelConfig="Ask" in the <ideablade.configuration> section. If you make a change in the domain model app.config you will get a warning when a build occurs that the config files do not match (not in sync). You can have the changes propagate to the client config file by clicking "Yes" or you can manually make the changes.
The <objectServer> section of the client's app.config file is the one you want to modify in order to connect to the correct port and URL. If your case, you have IIS listening on port 60000 and your application directory is in a subfolder "mysite" which is configured as an application root in IIS. The <objectServer> properties would be:
<objectServer isDistributed="true" remoteBaseURL="http://localhost" serverPort="60000" serviceName="mysite/EntityService.svc" />
Back to Top
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-Aug-2009 at 7:08am
Where is the app.config in the domain model located?  I can see and edit the app.config in my Silverlight app, but I don't even see one on the web site side?
 
Just to make sure I hadn't deleted it, I checked your example silverlight app, "FirstSilverlightApp" and could not find an app.config. on the web side there either.
 


Edited by Grappler - 21-Aug-2009 at 9:04am
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-Aug-2009 at 11:47am
Depending on how you designed it you can have multiple configs such as the "NextSilverlightApp" example below:
 
 
The "Web" project only contains a web.config file. The app.config that you need to modify is located in the project folder that also contains the .xaml files. When you get the warning to synchronize your config file with the domain model, you will need to click "No" otherwise your changes will get overwritten and the next time you open the client app.config the serverPort will be back to 9009.
 
Back to Top
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-Aug-2009 at 12:37pm
This is YOUR Four Simple Steps example Silverlight example.  My app is set up the same way.  As you can see there is only one app.config and it is in the Silverlight app.  So as far as I can see there is nothing to sync to.  I will try setting the

updateFromDomainModelConfig

but I don't see any other app.config to sync to.
 
I have my app running the way I want it to.  My final step is deploying on GoDaddy.  I will have to have a successful deploy before I will buy this product.
 
I may need help deploying this to GoDaddy.  What kind of services does IdeaBlade provide?
 
 
 


Edited by Grappler - 21-Aug-2009 at 2:12pm
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-Aug-2009 at 2:18pm
Ok. Let us use Four Simple Steps as a baseline so we have something common to refer to. The Web tab of the "DevForceSilverlightAppWeb" project properties has a section to configure servers such as the "Visual Studio Development Server" and your local IIS server. We hard-coded the port used by Cassini to "9009". This information is used to programmatically build the <objectServer> properties in the client app.config file.
 
  
 
If you select "Use Local IIS Web server", the "serverPort" property will equal 80 and the "serviceName" will have the virtual directory name appended to it.
 
When you do not want to use the information in the "Servers" section of the Web properties, set the updateFromDomainModelConfig to "No" :
<ideablade.configuration version="5.00" updateFromDomainModelConfig="No" clientApplicationType="Silverlight">
This behavior needs to be emphasized in our code sample documentation and in our Developers Guide. Sorry about the confusion this caused.
Back to Top
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Aug-2009 at 9:26am

I am in the final phase of setting up my Silverlight IdeaBlade web app on GoDaddy.
I have the web site deployed and the SQL database setup on GoDaddy.


(BTW if anyone has questions on the Database Publishing Wizard and GoDaddy, i just went throught it.)

I now need to complete the final magic incantations for IdeaBlade and GoDaddy to work together.

I had changed the web.config on my development platform as follows for IdeaBlade to find my database:

<edmKey name="Default" connection="metadata=res://StrataFundTrak/ServerModelStrata.csdl|res://StrataFundTrak/ServerModelStrata.ssdl|res://StrataFundTrak/ServerModelStrata.msl;provider=System.Data.SqlClient;provider connection string=&quot;Data Source=MACBOOKPRO\SQLEXPRESS;Initial Catalog=StrataFundTrack;Integrated Security=True;MultipleActiveResultSets=True&quot;" containerName="StrataFundTrak.ServerModelStrataContext">
  <probeAssemblyNames>
    <probeAssemblyName name="StrataFundTrak" />
  </probeAssemblyNames>
</edmKey>


and

<connectionStrings>
  <add name="ServerModelStrataContext" connectionString="metadata=res://*/ServerModelStrata.csdl|res://*/ServerModelStrata.ssdl|res://*/ServerModelStrata.msl;provider=System.Data.SqlClient;provider connection string=&quot;Data Source=MACBOOKPRO\SQLEXPRESS;Initial Catalog=StrataFundTrack;Integrated Security=True;MultipleActiveResultSets=True&quot;" providerName="System.Data.EntityClient" />
</connectionStrings>


in both cases I changed:

DataSource=MACBOOKPRO\SQLEXPRESS

and

Initial Catalog=StrataFundTrack

 

The connection string given to me by GoDaddy is:

Data Source=StrataFundTrack.db.4834072.hostedresource.com; Initial Catalog=StrataFundTrack; User ID=StrataFundTrack; Password='your password';


My current app.config in the client project is:

<configuration>
  <configSections>
    <section name="ideablade.configuration" type="IdeaBlade.Core.Configuration.IdeaBladeSection, IdeaBlade.Core, Version=5.2.1.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=287b5094865421c0" />
  </configSections>
  <ideablade.configuration version="5.00" updateFromDomainModelConfig="Ask" clientApplicationType="Silverlight">
    <objectServer isDistributed="true" remoteBaseURL="http://localhost" serverPort="9009" serviceName="EntityService.svc" />
    <edmKeys>
      <edmKey name="Default">
        <probeAssemblyNames>
          <probeAssemblyName name="StrataFundTrak, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" />
        </probeAssemblyNames>
      </edmKey>
    </edmKeys>
  </ideablade.configuration>
</configuration>

I should probably understand exactly what to do, but I hope you can take the time to help me out.  When this is finished,
IdeaBlade will have one more Silverlight/IdeaBlade app to point to.  If there are any specific setting in the Web Tab that need to bet set, I would appreciate info on that too.

 
Thanks
 
Stan Marks
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Aug-2009 at 12:49pm
Hey Stan,
 
I just finished researching GoDaddy's shared hosting. I tried to see if I could find a successful Silverlight deployment but I only found frustration so far. I have another customer attempting to get a WCF service running and IIS did not recognize .svc extentions. This means that GoDaddy did not properly install .NET 3.0 or manually register WCF with IIS. He had to add the mapping to his web.config:
<buildProviders>
<add extension=".svc" type="System.ServiceModel.Activation.ServiceBuildProvider, System.ServiceModel, Version=3.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089"/>
</buildProviders>
He also had to resolve a problem that occurs with some shared hosting environments where you get an error "multiple addresses not allowed..."
<serviceHostingEnvironment>
 <baseAddressPrefixFilters>
 <add prefix="http://MySiteName.com/" />
 </baseAddressPrefixFilters>
</serviceHostingEnvironment>
 
The big nail in the coffin is GoDaddy's "medium trust" level for .NET web applications. DevForce currently requires full trust as does .NET RIA Services.
 
I will update have to you on the trust issue. Hopefully we can find a way to operate in partial trust mode without stripping away or disabling too many Devforce features.
 
Back to Top
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Aug-2009 at 2:49pm
Do you have any customers that have working Silverlight 3 apps using IdeaBlade on DiscountASP.Net?
 
I am open to suggestions, GoDaddy is just cheap, but I am willing to go where there is a good solution.


Edited by Grappler - 25-Aug-2009 at 2:54pm
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-Aug-2009 at 3:31pm
At least I have found some Silverlight success stories for DiscountASP! I just checked their features and they fully support .NET up through 3.5 SP1 as well as full trust mode. I saw mixed reviews as far as support but at least they have a proven platform for Silverlight, WCF and the Entity Framework.
 
We use dedicated servers at MaximumASP.com for high reliablility, scalability and their excellent support. Of course, that comes with a much higher cost.
 
When I have some extra time (right), I am going to try and deploy a sample application at DiscountASP just to see if they live up to the hype. I would not chose any shared hosting platform for a heavily loaded or production critical application.
Back to Top
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26-Aug-2009 at 9:04am

If you do indeed get a chance to test DevForce at DiscountASP please let me know the results.  I have put in a sales request there asking them if their servers allow full trust.

This is their response:
 
"For Windows 2003, we host all sites in Full Trust.  For Windows 2008, the
default trust is Medium Trust however, because we delegate the trust level
control, you can change this to Full Trust within your web.config or in the
Microsoft IIS 7 Manager. "
 
Since I can set the trust level to full with either the web.config or in IIS 7 Manager, it would seem that this should work with DevForce?

 


Edited by Grappler - 26-Aug-2009 at 9:33am
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27-Aug-2009 at 10:24pm
I successfully deployed PrismExplorer at DiscountASP.com :
 
I signed up for the Windows 2008/IIS 7 platform. There were a couple of "slap my forehead" errors that I had to correct in my web.config settings.
 
The first one was the <system.webServer> subsection which is contained anywhere under <configuration> tag. This is required for IIS 7 deployments. In my example below, I put this at the section at the very end of my web.config above the closing tag </configuration>  :

<system.webServer>
      <validation validateIntegratedModeConfiguration="false" />
      <modules>
        <remove name="ScriptModule" />
        <add name="ScriptModule" preCondition="managedHandler" type="System.Web.Handlers.ScriptModule, System.Web.Extensions, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31BF3856AD364E35" />
      </modules>
      <handlers>
        <remove name="WebServiceHandlerFactory-Integrated" />
        <remove name="ScriptHandlerFactory" />
        <remove name="ScriptHandlerFactoryAppServices" />
        <remove name="ScriptResource" />
        <add name="ScriptHandlerFactory" verb="*" path="*.asmx" preCondition="integratedMode" type="System.Web.Script.Services.ScriptHandlerFactory, System.Web.Extensions, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31BF3856AD364E35" />
        <add name="ScriptHandlerFactoryAppServices" verb="*" path="*_AppService.axd" preCondition="integratedMode" type="System.Web.Script.Services.ScriptHandlerFactory, System.Web.Extensions, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31BF3856AD364E35" />
        <add name="ScriptResource" preCondition="integratedMode" verb="GET,HEAD" path="ScriptResource.axd" type="System.Web.Handlers.ScriptResourceHandler, System.Web.Extensions, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31BF3856AD364E35" />
      </handlers>
  </system.webServer>
 
</configuration>
 
The second setting I actually discussed in the post above...duh !!  [8~b...
 
The <serviceHostingEnvironment> is contained within <system.serviceModel>. I my example below I put this section above <services>  :

  <system.serviceModel>
    <serviceHostingEnvironment>
         <baseAddressPrefixFilters>
          <add prefix="http://ideabladene.web705.discountasp.net/" />
         </baseAddressPrefixFilters>
    </serviceHostingEnvironment>
    <services>
Of course, please replace the "prefix" value with your own domain name.
Back to Top
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Aug-2009 at 8:47am
Thanks for all the help.  I think I am just about there.  I have my site established on DiscountASP.net with my database installed and I am ready to hook it all up.
 
In the web config as running in my development environment I changed the connection string your template created to show my Data Source and Initial Catalog as shown:
 

<connectionStrings>

<add name="ServerModelStrataContext" connectionString="metadata=res://*/ServerModelStrata.csdl|res://*/ServerModelStrata.ssdl|res://*/ServerModelStrata.msl;provider=System.Data.SqlClient;provider connection string=&quot;Data Source=MACBOOKPRO\SQLEXPRESS;Initial Catalog=StrataFundTrack;Integrated Security=True;MultipleActiveResultSets=True&quot;" providerName="System.Data.EntityClient" />

</connectionStrings>

I am assuming that I replace the connection stuff with the values supplied by DisountASP.Net
 
Would it be possible to get your complete app.config and web.config to review?
 
When I start my Silverlight app at www.stratafundtrack.com, the following error occurs during LoginAsync (note this is the second message, the first just says "Attaching").
 
 


Edited by Grappler - 28-Aug-2009 at 11:10am
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Aug-2009 at 12:03pm
 In the connectionString above, you will need to remove "Integrated Security=True" and then copy the "User ID" and "Password" with their values from the DisountASP info. Of course, change the Data Source and "Initial Catalog" as well. In the "Data Source" value, just use the server's domain name without the "tcp:".
The app.config is just a few lines, so I will put them here. The web.config will be attached to this post.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration>
  <configSections>
    <section name="ideablade.configuration" type="IdeaBlade.Core.Configuration.IdeaBladeSection, IdeaBlade.Core, Version=5.2.1.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=287b5094865421c0" />
  </configSections>
  <ideablade.configuration version="5.00" updateFromDomainModelConfig="No" clientApplicationType="Silverlight">
    <objectServer isDistributed="true" remoteBaseURL="http://ideabladene.web705.discountasp.net" serverPort="80" serviceName="PrismExplorer/EntityService.svc" />
    <edmKeys>
      <edmKey name="Default">
        <probeAssemblyNames>
          <probeAssemblyName name="ModelExplorer.Model, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" />
          <probeAssemblyName name="ModelExplorer.ModelEF" />
        </probeAssemblyNames>
      </edmKey>
    </edmKeys>
  </ideablade.configuration>
</configuration>

 
Here is the web.config: uploads/3/Web.config.txt
I had to add the .txt extension to upload it....



Edited by JoshO - 28-Aug-2009 at 12:19pm
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Aug-2009 at 12:15pm
Originally posted by Grappler

When I start my Silverlight app at www.stratafundtrack.com, the following error occurs during LoginAsync (note this is the second message, the first just says "Attaching").
 
 


So when you signed up with DiscountASP, you used the domain name "stratafundtrack.com" and the DNS pointer for that domain name is mapped to the IP Address that DiscountASP gave you ?
Otherwise, you need to use the "Alternative URL" that is listed in your DiscountASP control panel and copy it into your app.config's "serverName". Also, I recommend creating a subfolder off of the root and make it an "Application" through the DiscountASP control panel. Use that folder name in the app.config's "serviceName" value.

Back to Top
Grappler View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Grappler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-Aug-2009 at 12:39pm
No Joy!
 
I still get the same error show above.  It is possible to have my app.config and web.config evalutated?
 
app.config
 
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration>
  <configSections>
    <section name="ideablade.configuration" type="IdeaBlade.Core.Configuration.IdeaBladeSection, IdeaBlade.Core, Version=5.2.1.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=287b5094865421c0" />
  </configSections>
  <ideablade.configuration version="5.00" updateFromDomainModelConfig="No" clientApplicationType="Silverlight">
    <objectServer isDistributed="true" remoteBaseURL="http://stratafundt.web705.discountasp.net" serverPort="80" serviceName="EntityService.svc" />
    <edmKeys>
      <edmKey name="Default">
        <probeAssemblyNames>
          <probeAssemblyName name="StrataFundTrak, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" />
        </probeAssemblyNames>
      </edmKey>
    </edmKeys>
  </ideablade.configuration>
</configuration>
 
 
 
 
 
 Until deployment, all the DevForce documentation has been excellent.  I did not have to make even one forum post or contact IdeaBlade.  Deployment has been very frustrating.  I am a Desktop app developer with very limited experience in deploying web sites or web apps.  I am willing to zip up the whole thing and send it to IdeaBlade.  Silverlight is an excellent transition for desktop app developers to move into web apps and DevForce has been an excellent tool for the DB backend.  I just can't get it deployed out of my Visual Studio 2008.
 
I am even willing to give you my login and password to DiscountASP.Net.  I need to get this done.
 
 


Edited by Grappler - 28-Aug-2009 at 1:58pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down