FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Unit of Work Pattern

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
SirSmackalot View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote SirSmackalot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Unit of Work Pattern
    Posted: 22-Oct-2012 at 12:33am
Hi there,

breeze is exactly what i was looking for for my project, nicely done!

I am quite new to EF, kind of following John Papas course to build my own page. He implemented the Unit of Work-Pattern on the server side. Is there an intelligent way to integrate the EFContextProvider in this pattern or is it obsolete for Breeze?

Any hint much appreciated :)

jagerm View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote jagerm Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22-Oct-2012 at 8:35am
I have the exact same question.  I do not feel comfortable exposing my DbContext directly over Web API via OData.  I need to know how to add some separation of concerns so I can easily manage row level security.  In John Papa's example how would one ensure with Breeze that Session descriptions can only be modified by the Speaker and other row level security without writing every security rule in BeforeSaveEntity; which would end up as an unmanageable mess for larger applications.  If we could extend the Unit of Work Pattern somehow this would be ideal.  I've been looking at this for a day or so and can't seem to come up with an elegant solution.  EFContextProvider attaches records directly to the ObjectContext and calls ObjectContext.SaveChanges(AcceptAllChanges) which seems to imply that Unit of Work won't work...
pawel View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote pawel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22-Oct-2012 at 11:27am
WardBell View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade

Post Options Post Options   Quote WardBell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22-Oct-2012 at 5:22pm
By all means vote those two up!