New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Cocktail/Temphire - Unit of Work & Repository Architecture
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Cocktail/Temphire - Unit of Work & Repository Architecture

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
DanielK View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote DanielK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cocktail/Temphire - Unit of Work & Repository Architecture
    Posted: 05-Feb-2013 at 2:53pm
I am just studying the Temphire reference application and came across a topic I do not fully understand.
Maybe you can bring some light on the problem and recommend a best practice approach.

Let's say I would like to extend the StaffingResourceRepository by some custom data selection method, e.g.

public async Task<IEnumerable<StaffingResource>> FindAll()
{
// Get all StaffingResources
var query = EntityManager.StaffingResources;
return await query.ExecuteAsync();
}

In the StaffingResourceDetailViewModel I would like to use this method but I can't because
in the ResourceMgtUnitOfWork the StaffingResources is defined as IRepository<StaffingResource> and not as StaffingResourceRepository.

Could you please explain why you use IRepository<StaffingResource> and not StaffingResourceRepository in the ResourceMgtUnitOfWork
and what is the best approach if I would like to use the "custom" StaffingResourceRepository in a ViewModel instead of the generic one.

Thank you for your assistance
Daniel
mgood View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade

Post Options Post Options   Quote mgood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05-Feb-2013 at 7:10pm