New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: DevExpress inter op with Devforce
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

DevExpress inter op with Devforce

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
dobbo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14-May-2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6
Post Options Post Options   Quote dobbo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: DevExpress inter op with Devforce
    Posted: 14-May-2008 at 7:05am
Hi,
 
I am attempting to use the latest version of Devforce (V3.6.2.2) with Devexpress 8.1.2. Note this is not the express version of Devforce but the full blown Enterprise version.
 
The problem is that when I try the change the preferences within the ControlBindingManager autopopulate control option I find that only .net is selected. If I attempt to select DevExpress V8.1 if get a message: The DevExpress v8.1 suite cannot be loaded. Please check that this control suite has actually been installed on this machine.
 
Oh, yes, I forgot to mention this is in VS 2008 running in Windows Vista 64.
 
Does any one have any ideas what the problem could be?
 
TIA
 
John


Edited by dobbo - 14-May-2008 at 7:10am
Back to Top
dobbo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14-May-2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6
Post Options Post Options   Quote dobbo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15-May-2008 at 5:09am
Never mind I think I've solved the problem.
 
When you install DevForce, it prompts you to add the binding to the Machine.Config file. On a 64 bit machine this is in;
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\CONFIG
 
However, the machine.config file in;
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\CONFIG
 
also needs to be updated, by manually adding in
 
   <dependentAssembly>
    <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.Data.v8.1" publicKeyToken="9B171C9FD64DA1D1" culture="neutral"/>
    <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-8.1.2.0" newVersion="8.1.2.0"/>
   </dependentAssembly>
   <dependentAssembly>
    <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.Utils.v8.1" publicKeyToken="9B171C9FD64DA1D1" culture="neutral"/>
    <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-8.1.2.0" newVersion="8.1.2.0"/>
   </dependentAssembly>
   <dependentAssembly>
    <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.XtraEditors.v8.1" publicKeyToken="9B171C9FD64DA1D1" culture="neutral"/>
    <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-8.1.2.0" newVersion="8.1.2.0"/>
   </dependentAssembly>
   <dependentAssembly>
    <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.XtraGrid.v8.1" publicKeyToken="9B171C9FD64DA1D1" culture="neutral"/>
    <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-8.1.2.0" newVersion="8.1.2.0"/>
   </dependentAssembly>
 
to the assemblyBinding section all works as expected.
 
John


Edited by dobbo - 15-May-2008 at 5:09am
Back to Top
davidklitzke View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 14-Jun-2007
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidklitzke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15-May-2008 at 11:05am
You should not have to manually edit any of the machine config files.  The Assembly Binding Redirector Tool should know whether it is on a 32-bit or 64-bit machine, and automatically edit the right CONFIG file.  However, I do occasionally see that some customers (like yourself) run into problems and have to edit the CONFIG file themselves.  I am trying to find a reproduction scenario so that we can fix this bug,
Back to Top
JeeZ View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14-Nov-2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote JeeZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04-Mar-2010 at 1:30pm
Got it working on a 64 bit machine!

The Assembly Binding Redirector tool automatically edited the 64 bit CONFIG file :
C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\CONFIG

But I also had to edit the 32bit one manually to make it work :

C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\CONFIG

Just copy the :
<runtime>
    <assemblyBinding xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:asm.v1">
      <dependentAssembly>
        <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.Data.v9.3" publicKeyToken="b88d1754d700e49a" />
        <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-9.3.1.0" newVersion="9.3.3.0" />
      </dependentAssembly>
      <dependentAssembly>
        <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.Utils.v9.3" publicKeyToken="b88d1754d700e49a" />
        <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-9.3.1.0" newVersion="9.3.3.0" />
      </dependentAssembly>
      <dependentAssembly>
        <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.XtraEditors.v9.3" publicKeyToken="b88d1754d700e49a" />
        <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-9.3.1.0" newVersion="9.3.3.0" />
      </dependentAssembly>
      <dependentAssembly>
        <assemblyIdentity name="DevExpress.XtraGrid.v9.3" publicKeyToken="b88d1754d700e49a" />
        <bindingRedirect oldVersion="0.0.0.0-9.3.1.0" newVersion="9.3.3.0" />
      </dependentAssembly>
    </assemblyBinding>
  </runtime>

 ... section from the 64 bit version to replace the :

<runtime/>

... section in the 32bit version.

Back to Top
JeeZ View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14-Nov-2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Post Options Post Options   Quote JeeZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04-Mar-2010 at 1:57pm
Ok, I spoke to fast ;)
It works, but I still need to use the same workaround I used when I updated from DevEx 9.1 to DevEx 9.2 :

Every time I open Visual Studio, I need to do this :
1) Open a project with no DevEx in it (I use the completed solution of the Populating Winform tutorial)
2) Click on the smart tag of the mEmployeeCBM (or any other Control Binding Manager) and click on "Configure Databindings"
3) Click on "Preferences"
4) Select the "DevExpress v9.3" in the "included Control suites" and select it again in the "Preferred Control Suite"
5) Click "OK", and again "OK"
6) Close the solution (WITHOUT CLOSING VISUAL STUDIO)
7) Open the old solution I want to work with
8) Do my stuff ...

I need to do these steps everytime I close Visual Studio ...

If anyone find a permanent fix, it'll be more then welcome!

Have a nice day!


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down