FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Binding Objects

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
pucsoftware View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Quote pucsoftware Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Binding Objects
    Posted: 04-Nov-2008 at 10:09am
I'm converting a DevForce classic application to DevForceEF. I'm new to the EF, Link, and DevForceEF so I'm having a problem understanding the upgrade and converting the code. For example here is some of my code:

private EntityList<LuActionType> mLuActionType;
private BindingList<Employee> mEmployeesBlank;
private EntityList<Employee> mEmployeesFilter;
private EntityList<Employee> mEmployees;

I've included the following references:
using IdeaBlade.EntityModel.v4;
using IdeaBlade.Util;
using DomainModel;
So, when declaring objects now it looks like I now have a choice of using a BindableList or BindingList. So, what is the difference and which one should I use?

USING A PASSTHRU. Here is my old code:
//-- using a passthru query
PassthruRdbQuery query = Employee.GetEmpoyeeDobByMonth(_currentmo.ToString());
query.QueryStrategy = QueryStrategy.DataSourceOnly;
mEmployees = mPersMgr.GetEntities<Employee>(query);
bsEmployee.DataSource = mEmployees;

I've now changed the bold line to:
mEmployees = (BindableList<Employee>) mPersMgr.ExecuteQuery(query);

Is this correct? It's the only way I could get it to compile because the BindableList isn't compatible with IEnumerable, I think.

USING A FILTER/PREDICATE
I've tried the following:

var filterCurrentEmployees = new Predicate<Employee>(delegate(Employee anEmployee) {
 return anEmployee.Status.StatusCode  == "C";
});

mEmployeesFilter.AddRange(mEmployees);
mEmployeesFilter.ListManager = new EntityListManager<Employee>(mPersMgr, filterCurrentEmployees, null);

BUT now I get an incompatibility with the EntityListManager and the ListManager!