New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Do you have any tutorials or sample code for using web services as a data source?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Do you have any tutorials or sample code for using web services as a data source?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Customer View Drop Down
User Submitted Questions to Support

Post Options Post Options   Quote Customer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Do you have any tutorials or sample code for using web services as a data source?
    Posted: 16-Jul-2007 at 3:07pm

I am a software architect at an enterprise license holders firm and I have some questions about some of DevForce’s functionality, particularly around Enterprise-only features.

• Do you have any tutorials or sample code for using web services as a data source.
  • Do you have any tutorials or sample code for using DevForce to save changes to data using web services?
  • Can you recommend strategies for working with web services as the primary source of data for an application?

For some background on what I need to accomplish, the applications I’m designing do not have a relational database at their core, so I can’t model my objects from the database. Since there is no database for me to connect to, I can’t use stored procedures, either. So all that leaves, as far as I can tell, is the web services functionality of DevForce to do my modeling. I was rather surprised to find that the documentation for the web service integration says that the functionality should be regarded as beta, particularly since the website didn’t mention that fact.

• Is there more functionality there than the user docs indicate?
  • If there isn’t more functionality, what is the plan for implementing full web service support?

If you guys could chew on those questions a bit and let me know what you recommend for using web services I would appreciate it.

IdeaBlade View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group