New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Limit when saving entities???
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Limit when saving entities???

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Andrew View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18-Feb-2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Limit when saving entities???
    Posted: 30-Nov-2010 at 8:24am
Hi DevForce-Team,
 
I'm struggling with a problem while saving (to) many entities.
The error I receive is: The remote server returned an error: NotFound!
 
I can reproduce the error very simple when creating a large amount of entities (e.g. 5000),
add them to the entity manager and then call SaveChangesAsnyc.
 
When I reduce the number of created (or updated = same issue) entities there
is no error and everything works fine like I'm used to it.
The whole application is working fine with dozens of entity manipulations.
 
It doesn't matter what kind of entity is created or updated and saved.
I made several tests with different situations.
The only thing I have to do is exceed the number of affected entities the manager has to save.
 
So what can I do?
Do I have to switch to the special configs?
Today I work without extra configs like you recommend using the DevForce-VS-2010 templates!
 
Thank you in advance.
Best Regards
Andrew
 
 
 
 
 
 
Back to Top
DenisK View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade


Joined: 25-Aug-2010
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote DenisK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Dec-2010 at 11:45am
Hi Andrew;

There is no pre defined limit on saving a large number of entities. Unfortunately, the error being returned does not help us pinpoint the problem either.

Here are my suggestions:

1. Try setting <httpRuntime maxRequestLength="102400"/> to a bigger number. Please see the following sites for more info.



2. If the above doesn't work, we might need to do more tracing. Could you see if you can try this?

Back to Top
Andrew View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18-Feb-2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Dec-2010 at 2:43pm
Hi Denis,
 
the 
 
<httpRuntime maxRequestLength="102400" />
 
setting worked immediately.
 
I should have known this one from a former WCF project.
 
Thank you very much. It saved my day.
 
Best Regards
Andrew
 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down