FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

General DevForce architecture questions...

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
baumsh View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote baumsh Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: General DevForce architecture questions...
    Posted: 03-Aug-2009 at 7:31am
Hi Folks,

I'm completely new to DevForce so some of my question might sound simple, I did try to read the manual as much as I can but the following are still not clear to me.

First I need to point out that DF seems to be a very well organized and well thought out product that seems to cover the "real life" scenarios, you could see that throughout the manual.

Just to understand my background, we've been developing an N-Tier product in Delphi using a product called DataAbstract, it was/is an excellent framework, and they also have a full blown .net product, we are now going to redesign our product for Silverlight and naturally I'm researching what is out there before we commit to anything. The main drawback I see with DA (data abstract) is that its by nature more "dataset" oriented, although you could generate Linq classes from the "datatables" and work as if it was an Object the entire framework doesn't work like an ORM tool, so when you want to pull data from multiple objects of the graph you first create a so called "DataTable" (mainly in thier schema designer using SQL) and was its combined you could utilise this dataTable using Linq.

When you made changes to the Object it saved the changes to a "delta" and when submitted to the server it deserilized the delta and processed all the changes of the delta, and you had the ability via Bussiness Processor events to "plug-in" every step of the posting processes of the delta and its changes. I mention this because this part of DA I really like and gave us lots of control and this is where I'm not fully compfortable with DF.

Server side processing: