FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Security

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
orcities View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Security
    Posted: 25-Sep-2012 at 10:56am
When developing a WinRt app do I have to use the Asp.net type security or can I do windows type? I have tried n-tier with the server containing the IEntityLoginManager code and it is never called.

This may seem like an odd question but I am new to WinRt and have never done Win7 phone apps.
sbelini View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade

Post Options Post Options   Quote sbelini Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26-Sep-2012 at 12:02pm
Hi,
You can indeed use Windows authentication in a WinRt app. (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh556233(v=vs.110).aspx)

This appears to be a bug. We are investigating the issue and will keep you posted.

Regards,
   sbelini
sbelini View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade

Post Options Post Options   Quote sbelini Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01-Oct-2012 at 3:29pm
Hi orcities,

I looked further and the LoginManager appears to be working properly.
While I can't hit a breakpoint, (like in SL or WPF) I know that the LoginManager is being hit because it writes to the debug log.

I'm attaching a simple solution showing it: uploads/892/T12169.zip

Regards,
   sbelini.
orcities View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Quote orcities Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 8:21am
In running your example. I had forced an error in the Login Manager. The data still loads successfully. This implies it is not working correctly.
sbelini View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade

Post Options Post Options   Quote sbelini Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 10:17am

Note that my LoginManager does not do anything usefull other than write to the log to prove it's being hit.