Author |
Share Topic Topic Search Topic Options
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: Security Posted: 25-Sep-2012 at 10:56am |
When developing a WinRt app do I have to use the Asp.net type security or can I do windows type? I have tried n-tier with the server containing the IEntityLoginManager code and it is never called.
This may seem like an odd question but I am new to WinRt and have never done Win7 phone apps.
|
|
sbelini
IdeaBlade
Joined: 13-Aug-2010
Location: Oakland
Posts: 786
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 26-Sep-2012 at 12:02pm |
Hi, This appears to be a bug. We are investigating the issue and will keep you posted. Regards, sbelini
|
|
sbelini
IdeaBlade
Joined: 13-Aug-2010
Location: Oakland
Posts: 786
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 01-Oct-2012 at 3:29pm |
Hi orcities, I looked further and the LoginManager appears to be working properly. While I can't hit a breakpoint, (like in SL or WPF) I know that the LoginManager is being hit because it writes to the debug log. Regards, sbelini.
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 8:21am |
In running your example. I had forced an error in the Login Manager. The data still loads successfully. This implies it is not working correctly.
|
|
sbelini
IdeaBlade
Joined: 13-Aug-2010
Location: Oakland
Posts: 786
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 10:17am |
Note that my LoginManager does not do anything usefull other than write to the log to prove it's being hit. I had not intention of writing a LoginManager that properly authenticates the user as this was not the issue. (You can see I'm just passing null credentials) As a matter of fact, after the login, the user is still not authenticated. Maybe I misunderstood your original question. I was under the impression that the issue is that the LoginManager was not being hit upon a LoginAsync call. - We already stablished that this is not the case. Please explain in detail what it the problem you are experiencing. Regards, sbelini.
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 10:21am |
The issue is of course the whole thing. Providing security. Not allowing anything if they do not have permission. I will apply the entity security layer and see if it does not provide results.
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 11:19am |
Attached please find my example. It does not fail at either the login or the entityqueryinterceptor.
|
|
sbelini
IdeaBlade
Joined: 13-Aug-2010
Location: Oakland
Posts: 786
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 1:11pm |
orcities,
Your sample appears to be failing as it should.
It is always failing during Login, throwing a NotImplementedException (it never gets to the QueryInterceptor since login throws):
sbelini.
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 1:18pm |
When I run it it still give me results. If it fails to login it should not get results. It never throws the error.
|
|
sbelini
IdeaBlade
Joined: 13-Aug-2010
Location: Oakland
Posts: 786
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 2:05pm |
Did you make sure to clean/rebuild the solution and close IIS Express?
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 02-Oct-2012 at 2:58pm |
I have tried all including restarting machine. Nothing makes the error get thrown or stop the query from loading data.
I am sure if you altered the example to load from northwindib it would give you same results.
|
|
sbelini
IdeaBlade
Joined: 13-Aug-2010
Location: Oakland
Posts: 786
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 03-Oct-2012 at 10:37am |
I had actually created a db based on the model and added a few records when I tested. Still I get the exception thrown as shown in the screenshot.
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 03-Oct-2012 at 10:39am |
You have my exact code. Can you help me figure out why I would be getting data when you are getting the error?
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 04-Oct-2012 at 7:29am |
In looking further I see that the EntityManager is in fact not logged in. But, why does it still return data?
|
|
orcities
Senior Member
Joined: 28-Aug-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 454
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 04-Oct-2012 at 7:57am |
I added another entity to the edmx and now I get the error. Apparently just rebuilding the model didn't do it. I needed to alter it.
Thank you.
|
|
sbelini
IdeaBlade
Joined: 13-Aug-2010
Location: Oakland
Posts: 786
|
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 04-Oct-2012 at 9:39am |
Thanks for the update. I'm glad the issue is gone. I was starting to run out of options here. sbelini.
|
|