New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: using two DLL's that then reference their own models and apphelpers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

using two DLL's that then reference their own models and apphelpers

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
DataMan View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 26-Jul-2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 52
Post Options Post Options   Quote DataMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: using two DLL's that then reference their own models and apphelpers
    Posted: 15-Apr-2010 at 7:53pm
I have have been building an application that currently is standalone and it has the UI as an exe and then in another seperate project an apphelper and the Model.    We'll call this APP1 and Model1.  The apphelper and model are reference in APP1. Nothing crazy.
 
Now I have another project that is compiled as a DLL and is used in a completly different application and it has it's own Apphelper and a model that has a different name as APP1.  We'll call this APP2 and Model2. 
 
Both of these applications use their own customkeyresolver so they don't really need the ideablade.ibconfig file. 
 
In the APP2 is a form that I would like to share with APP1.  I tried just the basic add a reference to the APP2.dll but I haven't tried to reference the form in the dll and see if it opens properly.
 
One issue that I see right now is that there are two apphelper.dll dependent references in my setup project.  One for APP1 and one for APP2.  Setup is warning me that two files exist and one will obviously lose when installing because it will be overwritten by the second.
 
Is only having a single apphelper.dll this is for a completley different model project a problem?  So there will be an appheler in the application directory but it's not the "proper" one that the APP2 might be expecting.  Because I'm using a customkeyresolver do I really need the apphelper.dll at all?  Will it complain about licensing or something?
 
Thanks
Back to Top
IdeaBlade View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 30-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 353
Post Options Post Options   Quote IdeaBlade Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-Apr-2010 at 4:03pm
It strikes me a bit odd that you have placed a form that you want to share in the same assembly with a business model. Wouldn't it make sense to move that into a different assembly?
Back to Top
DataMan View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 26-Jul-2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 52
Post Options Post Options   Quote DataMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-Apr-2010 at 5:57pm
Hi there,  sorry,  I guess I was a little misleading.  For App1 and App2 they each have 2 projects.  One project for the business model and one project for the UI.  The UI references the business model DLL.
 
I've now referenced app2 (project creates a DLL) in App1 and everything seems to be working properly.  It doesn't seem to matter that the apphelper project is being overwritten and it's all conecting fine.  Not sure if this is the proper way to do it but it's working anyways.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down