New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Problems running FirstSilverlightApp and PRISM Explorer
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Problems running FirstSilverlightApp and PRISM Explorer

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
rasmus View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote rasmus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Problems running FirstSilverlightApp and PRISM Explorer
    Posted: 05-Aug-2009 at 3:13am
Hi
 
Hope someone can help me out with this. I am all new to the DevForce framework. I have just downloaded the most recent version (22. July)
 
First I tried running the FirstSilverlightApp, but I get a VS Studio Error box telling me: "Unable to launch the ASP .NET Development Server because port '9009' is in use". It doesn't matter what port I try to use I stille get that message (Fx changing the port to 7890 - I get the message that port '7890'is in use).
 
I have tried to download the PRISM Explorer example but when I try to complile the solution I get this compile error: "The Project file "..\ModelExplorerWeb\ModelExplorerWeb.csproj" was not found."
 
Any help is appreciated.
Back to Top
JoshO View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 09-May-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Post Options Post Options   Quote JoshO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06-Aug-2009 at 2:33pm
We have not seen this port problem before but when I "googled" it, alot of results showed up with antivirus software being the problem. Apparently, antivirus/web security software that either install their own firewalls and/or monitor all application ports can block access from Visual Studio' development web server (Cassini).
 
As far as Prism Explorer is concerned, it does not have a project folder named "ModelExplorerWeb". I just download and extracted the zip to make sure.
Here is the project folder structure in VS with "PrismExplorerWeb" set as the startup project:
 
Here is the folder structure on disk. I used a parent folder named "PrismExplorerTest" but you name it anything. The folders that must be together are "DevForce", "Prism", and "PrismExplorer". This info is in the readme file included in the zip.
 
Is this what you have ?
 
Back to Top
rasmus View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote rasmus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07-Aug-2009 at 2:13am
Hi
 
I have the exact same folder structure. I found that in the PrismExplorer.Shell.csproj file there is this reference:
 
<LinkedServerProject>..\ModelExplorerWeb\ModelExplorerWeb.csproj</LinkedServerProject>
 
If I remove it from the file, everything compiles without errors.
 
I have tried disabeling all antivirus/firewall, but still get the message telling me that to port is in use. I don't have any problems with using cassini from a "standard" .Net web app. I have tried instead to create a IIS webhome for the FirstSilverlightApp thereby avoiding to use any ports. After enabling "Integrated Windows Authentication" for the site, everything worked out fine - I am now able to perform queries to the NorthwindDB from FirstSilverlightApp. But when I did the same thing to the PrismExplorer project I get an error when trying to perform the Query (Connect and logon is OK): "Cannot open database 'NorthwindEF' requested by the login'. The login failed. Login failed for user 'HPRASMUS/ASPNET'".
 
It does not matter to me that I can't run the project from the Cassini, but if you have any ideas for solving the login error for the DB that would be of great help!
 
 
Back to Top
WardBell View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 31-Mar-2009
Location: Emeryville, CA,
Posts: 338
Post Options Post Options   Quote WardBell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07-Aug-2009 at 11:48am

Rasmus -

I regret that "<LinkedServerProject>..\ModelExplorerWeb\ModelExplorerWeb.csproj</LinkedServerProject>" appeared in the Shell project file. We will correct the source code; until then, the easiest way to remove this link is from within Visual Studio:
  • Open the Shell project's properties window
  • Look for the new combobox at the bottom of the Silverlight tab; it reads ".NET RIA Services Link"
  • Select "<No Project Set>"

If you don't see this combobox on your Silverlight tab (it is new and may be an artifact of installing RIA Services), you will have to edit the Shell Project file directly which you can do within Visual Studio

  • Right click the project in VS and select "Unload the Project"
  • Right click the project name again and select "Edit PrismExplorer.Shel.csproj"; it will appear in an XML editor
  • Locate the "LinkedServerProject" tag
  • Remove it entirely
  • Save the file
  • Right click the project name and select "Reload the Project"

--

When I get "Port in Use" it is usually because there is a version of Cassini (the "ASP.NET Development Server") still running after I stopped the last debugging pass. You'll find an icon for it in the Windows System tray; right-click on that icon and choose "Stop" from the context menu.
 
I do not know what happened when you tried to change the port in Prism Explorer. There are so many possibilities. Would you mind rolling back to a clean copy, removing the offending <LinkedServerProject/> bug, confirming that there is no Cassini instance running, and see if PE works? if you still have trouble, please get back to us and we'll contact you directly to figure it out.
Back to Top
rasmus View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote rasmus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2009 at 3:06am
Hi
 
Thank you for the reply. I have started a clean copy of the project and removed the line from the "LinkedServerProject". I located the combobox on the silverlight tab and selected "<No project set>". I do still get the "Port in use" error, and there is no cassini instance running in the background.
 
You are very welcome to contact me directly
 
Back to Top
WardBell View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 31-Mar-2009
Location: Emeryville, CA,
Posts: 338
Post Options Post Options   Quote WardBell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2009 at 2:20pm
Everyone here is stumped about the "Port in use" error especially since it looks like you are using Windows XP and have shut down the firewall.
 
You say you can get it going with IIS? You are just stuck on the SQL login? You can beat that one by granting  'HPRASMUS/ASPNET' user login and dbo permissions to the database which is NorthwindEF.
 
You DID remember to install the Entity Framework tutorial database, NorthwindEF, yes?
 
Prism Explorer uses NorthwindEF which is a different database than the NorthwindIB used by FirstSilverlightApp. NorthwindEF should be in the PrismExplorer zip file but you can download it separately from our website: http://www.ideablade.com/DevForceSilverlight/CodeSamples/NorthwindEF-Database/NorthwindEF-Database.zip
 
Also please note that we replaced the source code for PrismExplorer on 7 Aug. I guess you didn't download the fresh copy because there would have been no "offending <LinkedServerProject/> bug" to remove.
Back to Top
rasmus View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote rasmus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-Aug-2009 at 4:06pm
Hi
 
I installed the NorthwindEF from your link, granted permissions for the ASPNET user, and now I can run the PRISM app through the IIS. Thanks a lot for the help :-)
 
I still have problems running on the cassini - but I think for now it is not that important. I will let you know if I solve this issue.
 
Back to Top
eileenv View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade
Avatar

Joined: 15-Jun-2007
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Post Options Post Options   Quote eileenv Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-Aug-2009 at 1:31pm
I just fixed this issue on my machine. It was a problem with my ESET NOD32 Antivirus software (maybe a recent update messed things up). To solve it, I excluded VisualStudio from the active browser filtering:

1. Launch ESET
2. Go to Setup > Enter entire advanced setup tree...
3. Deselect devenv.exe in the tree (see screenshot)



That fixed it for me.

Edited by eileenv - 21-Aug-2009 at 1:34pm
Back to Top
rasmus View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 05-Aug-2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 63
Post Options Post Options   Quote rasmus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21-Aug-2009 at 2:48pm
That helped! Thanks a lot. Funny thing is disabling the ESET doesn't do the trick! Thank you for sorting this one out!!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down