New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Remote server method
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Remote server method

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
rbautistaole View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01-Apr-2011
Posts: 37
Post Options Post Options   Quote rbautistaole Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Remote server method
    Posted: 13-Jan-2012 at 8:55am
Hi.
I´m test the silverlight sample to rsm. In the code i found this comments
 
// Using type/method names is not resilient to changes, but using the ServerMethodDelegate means that you must define a class/method stub on the client and use the same assembly name.
 
What do you mean with "and use the same assembly name."?
thanks.
 
Back to Top
DenisK View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade


Joined: 25-Aug-2010
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote DenisK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-Jan-2012 at 3:33pm
Hi rbautistaole,

This is one of those things that are clearer to see than explain. I've modified the Silverlight_RSM sample here to show what this means. Basically the structure of the solution is:

DomainModel
DomainModel.SL - Has file links to DomainModel. If you look at this project properties, I had changed the Assembly Name to DomainModel instead of DomainModel.SL
SimpleECS - Has reference to DomainModel.SL
SimpleECSWeb - Has reference to DomainModel


Hope this helps.


Edited by DenisK - 17-Jan-2012 at 4:56pm
Back to Top
rbautistaole View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01-Apr-2011
Posts: 37
Post Options Post Options   Quote rbautistaole Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18-Jan-2012 at 6:49pm

Hi.

Sorry.
I don´t see the point. I get an error in the second button, but this is invoke the rsm with the typename and methodName not with the ServerMethodDelegate.
 
Back to Top
DenisK View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade


Joined: 25-Aug-2010
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote DenisK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18-Jan-2012 at 8:06pm
Yes, that's because I didn't change the typeName on the second method since I was illustrating an example for ServerMethodDelegate. To make the second button works, change the typeName to

var typeName = "DomainModel.ServerMethods, DomainModel";
Back to Top
katit View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 09-Sep-2011
Posts: 146
Post Options Post Options   Quote katit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18-Jan-2012 at 8:59pm
I was playing with those yesterday. Suggestion: Somehow make it work if DLL names differ. I think it's common to name DLL's like MyData.DLL and MyData.SL.dll which will make Delegate impossible..
 
Doing it by type name is not good at all..
Back to Top
DenisK View Drop Down
IdeaBlade
IdeaBlade


Joined: 25-Aug-2010
Posts: 715
Post Options Post Options   Quote DenisK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19-Jan-2012 at 11:47am
Thanks for the suggestion katit. I'm adding this as a feature request.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down